Summer Cake…

image

Finally, things have slowed down a little….or maybe they haven’t really.  Maybe I just decided to make the time to throw this cake together….or maybe it’s because this cake takes no time at all.  Well, at any rate, I made a cake.  A peachy vanilla cake with a light fluffy topping.  Add raspberries and your all set. Set for what?  A summer brunch, iced tea on the veranda with dear friends, a barbeque, evening coffee on the back porch…..hmmmm…maybe for breakfast with coffee during quiet time. Yes, please.

image

image

image

image

I just call this Summer Cake.  Because it reminds me of summer. 
This was adapted from two recipes.  One being a recipe by Sandra Lee.  The other source I’m not sure of.  This cake could be changed up with so many different flavor combinations.

Summer Cake
1 box of vanilla cake mix
Follow the directions on box but replace the water with 1 cup of peach juice from large can of peaches.  You can add 1 1/2 tsp Rasberry flavoring (though I’m not sure I could really taste it).
Pour into 2-8″ or 2-9″ cake pans that have been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake according to box.

Fluffy Summer Fristing
1 –8oz Cool Whip
1 –8oz peach OR raspberry yogurt
Fold together gently and frost the middle and top of cake.  Top with fresh raspberries.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment